Monday, February 27, 2006

Do we really need six versions of the new Windows OS?

This BBC article tells that Microsoft is announcing that their new OS, Vista, will come in six flavors. I just want to go on record to say this is L-A-M-E LAME!

The six versions in question are:
  • Starter - for low income and developing countries
  • Home Basic - basic Internet and document use
  • Home Premium - more multimedia
  • Business
  • Enterprise - extra document security
  • Ultimate - all of the above

Their line of reasoning is that they don't want to put buyers in the situation of paying for features they do not intend to use, but this is just marketing. With the current availability of high quality free and open source software, even for the Windows platform, there is no way Microsoft can reasonably justify the tiered price for features model. Additionally, it is annoying for the consumer to have to think about which version is right for them. Inevitably, some will end up buying the Ultimate version only because there are a couple features from differing versions they wish to use, even though not all features are needed.

This simply tells me to stick with Windows XP for now. I have enough open source software running on my system that this upgrade is not necessary. The only thing I can see that would make me consider the upgrade is when the inevitable comes, and Microsoft ceases supporting service packs and hotfixes. Were it not for a few software packages, (Adobe CS, Dreamweaver, and Yahoo Music) I would make a permanent move to Kubuntu.


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home